WACUP

Preview Build Discussion => Preview Build Discussion => Topic started by: pimento on January 14, 2019, 02:29:51 AM

Title: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on January 14, 2019, 02:29:51 AM
Hi, I've installed the preview build over a fresh install of 5.666, it works after it's installed but then the next time I turn my machine on, WACUP doesn't start - it's in the task manager as a background process, but the window never appears.

This is windows 10 pro 64-bit on a surface pro 3. Anything I can collect for you?
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Juanus on January 14, 2019, 03:28:01 AM
I have never seen it run on one of those surface pros before. I will bet that the skin just went off the top of the screen.
I am assuming the directory structure is the same as a normal install of windows.
Close WACUP
In the %AppData%\Roaming\WACUP folder there is a file named studio.xnf. Rename it to studio.old
Start WACUP again and see if that works. If it does. save that studio.old file. DrO might want you to send it to him.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on January 14, 2019, 07:06:30 AM
Thanks Juanus. I don't have a %AppData%\Roaming\WACUP folder, but I do have a %AppData%\Winamp folder that had a studio.xnf file in it, so I renamed that one - no change.

I don't think it's as simple as not being on the screen as I don't get the icon in the system tray (I turned off the taskbar and turned on the system tray icon) at all either.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: The1_Freeman on January 14, 2019, 10:31:39 AM
The next best thing you can try is to rename the winamp.ini file to winamp.old and see if that helps any.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on January 14, 2019, 05:34:45 PM
If that doesn't help then I'd remove the install & reinstall wacup just by using it's installer as it handles the 5.666 install for you.

Also when it's running in the background, is it showing as using any processor time ?

And to double check, it was downloaded from the wacup site & not somewhere else like chip.de ?

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on January 16, 2019, 01:44:15 AM
So.. that's a little odd. After I renamed that file and it didn't work, I rebooted the machine to see if that would make a difference and it's worked ever since. I left off reporting back so I could test it a little more thoroughly to make sure.

I didn't know the WACUP installer did the 5.666 as well, that's handy.. but previously I had tried just that one (after uninstalling the Winamp 5.8 dealie (i was curious)) and it wouldn't launch at all then either, which is when I did the 5.666 install and then WACUP over the top of that. The WACUP installer was downloaded from here, and the 5.666 was downloaded from the old winamp site way back when. When it was stuck in the background I didn't notice it using processor time, certainly not much if any.

Anyway, seems it's fine now, I'll report back if it goes wrong again.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Juanus on January 16, 2019, 03:16:52 AM
Which file did you rename and it worked? The studio file or the winamp.ini file?
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on January 16, 2019, 04:01:38 AM
The studio file. I see that it's created a new one now though.

Also I just knocked the dock connector and seem to have killed things pretty good, I can't play anything of my network share anymore - but it's the same in Groove, so this isn't a WACUP/Winamp problem.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Juanus on January 16, 2019, 04:03:55 AM
Correct. When you start wacup it will create a studio file if there is one not already there. Sometimes the file gets corrupted.

Good luck with your duck connector.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on January 21, 2019, 04:18:01 PM
Also I just knocked the dock connector and seem to have killed things pretty good
*fingers crossed* you're able to get that fixed.

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 06, 2019, 02:33:06 AM
It's doing it again with the latest public build. WACUP and Winamp (32 bit) are running as backgound tasks in the task manager, but there's no tray icon or window appearing. If I end task on WACUP and Winamp and try starting again (via Start Menu shortcut) it does the same thing, just those two processes starting (not using any CPU or anything) but no program appearing.

If I doubleclick an MP3 file, I get another instance of WACUP starting under background tasks, but still nothing appearing or playing.

Oh.. I tried to open an album's worth of MP3s (select all, right click, Open) and now I have a while pile more WACUP and Winamp instances running there..
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 06, 2019, 03:48:22 AM
Ok, that's the bit of information that we were missing & I assume the machine wasn't badly damaged in the end?

Currently interaction with Explorer / OS shell is not fully implemented (e.g. double-clicking or using the open actions in Explorer) and is noted during install but not clearly enough.

That's what is going to be causing the apparent hung processes or multiple ones to be started & is why the WACUP previews (and beta builds) generally try to run as portable only installs but if there's been an existing Winamp install then depending on where WACUP is installed, the OS associations might be present & so can be used & thus lead to the issues being seen.

I've still to track down what's going on to cause the processes to hang as my local testing has generally worked but I know some of the earlier beta testers have reported a similar issue with the processes just hanging around & I've only been able to replicate it a few times but couldn't debug it at the time so I'm still stumped. Fixing it & getting Explorer / OS shell integration completed is one of the blockers for a non-preview build which can functionally replace an existing 5.666 install.

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 06, 2019, 04:08:34 AM
This also happens when I run WACUP from the start menu, and at the moment it's happening every time I try to launch it - is there any debugs or something I can take for you before I try a restart?
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 08, 2019, 04:14:27 PM
It happening from the start menu is definitely odd as there's no reason for that to be trying to load anything other than its current settings.

The best thing I can think off so I can check if it's corrupted settings or something odd is to make a backup of your WACUP install (using http://koopa.meggamusic.co.uk/backuptool/) & then pm me a copy of the zip & I'll have to see what I can find. But really I need to get the file association handling re-implemented so I can actually debug things instead of the initially crippled solution that the preview builds are currently running.

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 12, 2019, 07:46:53 AM
It's doing it again, so PM sent.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Deacon on February 13, 2019, 10:34:32 AM
I have this problem too, so I've gone back to normal winamp until it's sorted.
Just seems to occur randomly. Does open every now and then. Normally use the quicklaunch or desktop shortcut to open it.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 13, 2019, 03:59:04 PM
Deacon: what build were you using it was it any of the recent builds ?  If there was a way for me to quickly replicate the issue then I would fix it but as I'm honestly struggling to replicate this whilst it happens so consistently for others is really leaving me stumped as apart from the quirks I know off, there 's no reason when just doing a straight shortcut load without any additional parameters / files being passed for it to lock-up / not load. Unless there's something like the A/V present that's blocking the process loading.

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Deacon on February 14, 2019, 07:53:38 PM
Deacon: what build were you using it was it any of the recent builds ?  If there was a way for me to quickly replicate the issue then I would fix it but as I'm honestly struggling to replicate this whilst it happens so consistently for others is really leaving me stumped as apart from the quirks I know off, there 's no reason when just doing a straight shortcut load without any additional parameters / files being passed for it to lock-up / not load. Unless there's something like the A/V present that's blocking the process loading.

-dro


I’ve been using various builds from November or so, and it’s been an issue with every build. Just grown a bit tired of it for now!
I’m using eset antivirus but I’ve never had any problems with it making problems with any other apps, and get no notifications.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 14, 2019, 08:13:24 PM
I really wish you'd have said something to me at the time unless I'm just not matching up the forum account to email / discord messages as I'd not been aware of consistent failure to start issues prior to putting out the public preview builds :(

I'll up my attempts to try & determine what's going wrong & even hopefully replicate the issue though so far none of my test setups show a loading failure :(

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Deacon on February 15, 2019, 12:17:53 AM
I really wish you'd have said something to me at the time unless I'm just not matching up the forum account to email / discord messages as I'd not been aware of consistent failure to start issues prior to putting out the public preview builds :(

I'll up my attempts to try & determine what's going wrong & even hopefully replicate the issue though so far none of my test setups show a loading failure :(

-dro

Sorry about that. I was more assuming it was my computer or something, but done a fresh install and and still the same. I’ll have a faff about with it at the weekend myself and see if I can work out anything.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 15, 2019, 08:15:08 AM
In my case I don't have any AV outside of what's built into windows 10. At this stage I can't think of any additional factors that might be affecting things, outside of perhaps being that it's more likely to happen if I don't open WACUP up until much later in the day.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 15, 2019, 12:31:12 PM
@Deacon: I've split your new posts into a thread that I've moved into the beta discussion forum due to some of the data that's been posted.

@pimento: that's interesting if it's better later in the day. though can you have a look in the system event viewer & see if there's any winamp/wacup reported errors (I've a feeling that what Deacon has posted before I split the posts might be the same sort of cause of issue).

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Deacon on February 15, 2019, 12:33:45 PM
Cheers. Hopefully we can work this out!
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 21, 2019, 03:57:22 AM
@Deacon: I've split your new posts into a thread that I've moved into the beta discussion forum due to some of the data that's been posted.

@pimento: that's interesting if it's better later in the day. though can you have a look in the system event viewer & see if there's any winamp/wacup reported errors (I've a feeling that what Deacon has posted before I split the posts might be the same sort of cause of issue).

-dro

Sorry, I explained badly, it's more likely to not open later in the day. I just tried it now and it's failing to open, I had thought perhaps it was related to being docked but I'm on a work trip so no dock here. Anyway, the first time it started the two background tasks as usual and didn't load, I killed them and tried again, that time it didn't even load the tasks but I got two entries in the Application log (nothing in the system log) and then I tried again and it was back to the two background tasks and nothing else. I've attached the details from the two events here.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: Juanus on February 21, 2019, 04:09:06 AM
Sorry if I missed this before.
But what version of windows are you using?
And if you are on Windows 10, which update are you on?
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 21, 2019, 11:08:25 PM
Windows 10 pro 64-bit 1809 on a Surface Pro 3.
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: dro on February 21, 2019, 11:22:19 PM
It's the same bad_module_info error that Deacon is experiencing. The temporary solution for that seems to be just running as an admin all the time (which really isn't ideal). I've got to make a debug build to try & work out where the loading failure then happens as it running under admin but not a normal user is somewhat baffling.

-dro
Title: Re: WACUP won't start
Post by: pimento on February 25, 2019, 03:30:08 AM
I'm happy to run a debug build for a time if you would like more data on it, just let me know! In the mean time I'll continue with launching it as admin when necessary.