NOTE: New beta testers are not currently being added as I need to re-work the beta test program

If you've not already requested to be a beta tester & would like to then please send a PM to 'dro' to be added to the beta test group. Note: requests to be a beta tester are processed in batches when new beta builds are released so please by patient of this process.

Author Topic: Parallel installation  (Read 4153 times)

dracoola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Parallel installation
« on: August 28, 2019, 09:38:40 AM »
hey there.

Windows 10

i installed WACUP parallely to a Winamp 5.666 installation on a different folder.
When i start Winamp first and then wacup, its keeping only the winamp.
When i start wacup first and then winamp, it keeps wacup startet.
how can i start them parallel ?

Eris Lund

  • Almost a full-time hobby Modern Skinner
  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
    • Eris Lund's Github
Re: Parallel installation
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 10:57:33 AM »
enable the "Multiple Instances" option in the preferences window in both (i think) installs, which should allow the two to run at the same time
I made that one skin that one time.
https://github.com/0x5066/Winamp2000SP4

dracoola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Parallel installation
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2019, 11:03:44 AM »
enable the "Multiple Instances" option in the preferences window in both (i think) installs, which should allow the two to run at the same time


perfect. i found that option in both.
;-)

Pawel

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
    • Pawel Porwisz
Re: Parallel installation
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2019, 05:56:31 PM »
But, if you enable this option (Allow multiple instances) in WACUP you may have troubles.
-Pawel

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3044
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Parallel installation
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2019, 06:23:21 PM »
There's a better option in changing the class name of the WACUP instance so it's different from the Winamp install. The only downside is if anything external is just looking for the Winamp class name but then running multiple installs at the same time is always going to have compromises.

Under wacup, go to preferences -> advanced -> portable mode -> click 'open paths.ini editor' -> change "Winamp 1.x" to something else (e.g. "WACUP 1.x") & save (you made need to run WACUP as an administrator just once to allow this to work depending on where WACUP installed).

Then you'll just need to restart the WACUP install (as a normal user if you had to elevate it) & then the two can be run side-by-side as that's how I deal with a dev install & another local install that is used for playback whilst I'm working on things.

-dro