Latest restricted WACUP beta release is build #19100 (May 10th 2024) (x86 & x64 changelogs) | Latest WACUP public preview is build #19100 (May 10th 2024) (x86 only)


NOTE: Beta testers are added in a limited & subjective manner as I can only support so many people as part of the beta test program to keep it useful for my needs.

Unless I think you're going to be helpful, not all requests will be accepted but might still be later on. Remember that beta testing is to help me & the limitations currently works for my needs for this project.

Author Topic: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916  (Read 1010 times)

wbpayne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« on: April 19, 2024, 09:20:16 PM »
I've installed the newest preview build today, build 1.99.11.18916.  I'm seeing an issue when switching skins.  If I switch from a modern skin to a classic skin, and then try to switch back to a modern skin again without restarting WACUP nothing happens.  WACUP will remain using the classic skin until I restart it and then I can switch to a modern skin without issue.

This didn't occur with the previous preview build.  I'm more than happy to test any fixes that you may come up with to see if they solve this issue and am more than happy to provide any diagnostics you ask for.

Thanks,
Wilhelm Payne

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2024, 09:41:38 PM »
I've had another user report this earlier today despite it not having been mentioned with any of the betas from the prior few month's so I'm not sure why it'd now be messing up other than it's somewhat the nature of trying to re-use the modern skin plug-in gen_ff dll from 5.666 & something yet unknown to me isn't working right.

Compared to the old preview they are for the most part 2 different implementations now & gen_ff was never really meat to be able to work outside of a native winamp implementation as WACUP is now doing.

All I can suggest for now is to try running wacup using wacup.exe /procdump to see if there might be a weird crash happening (something that gen_ff can randomly do) & it could be that's happening & measures to try to avoid a full crash are actually working at the expense of a weird non-skin changing experience.

-dro

MarkRH

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
    • View Profile
    • Mark Headrick's Website
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2024, 10:01:09 PM »
I did some messing around and in my case if I start with a modern (like Bento) or classic skin (Nucleo_NLog_v102_.wsz) and switch to the Built-in classic skin then it doesn't want to switch to either a modern or another classic skin afterwards unless I restart.  Going between various other classic or modern skins doesn't seem to be an issue.

I don't change skins much so not something I would have caught before. I'll try the Procdump process.

Edit: Sent a procdump in email.  Hopefully shows something related to this.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2024, 10:09:45 PM by MarkRH »

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2024, 10:37:15 PM »
Have now replicated the issue & am looking into what might be going on.

-dro

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2024, 11:56:58 PM »
There'll be a fixed build in the day or so. The problem has existed for a couple of years in my code & despite it not having been changed for the new build (haven't gone back & checked other recent beta builds) it seems to be manifesting in a more consistent manner if going to the base skin is involved as part of the chain of switching attempts.

-dro

wbpayne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2024, 05:24:17 AM »
Thank you for looking into this.  Thanks MarkRH for sending dro the procdump so quickly.  I'm glad to know that this will be fixed soon.

Darkhell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2024, 06:06:07 PM »
There'll be a fixed build in the day or so. The problem has existed for a couple of years in my code & despite it not having been changed for the new build (haven't gone back & checked other recent beta builds) it seems to be manifesting in a more consistent manner if going to the base skin is involved as part of the chain of switching attempts.

-dro


Hello, fisrt of all thanks for your great work.

Related to the skin problem i'm suffering something similar (i guess  :-\), in my case it only happen with Bento skin, if i change to any skin and try to go back to Bento using the skin list from right click menu it just switch to classic skin, the only way to go to bento again is opening preferences window and select bento on the skin section.

Another thing that i noticed is that i can't change the skin directory, the "Set skins directory..." button doesn't do anything, is not grayed out, it just do nothing when is pressed, tried runing wacup as admin just in case but the problem persist.

Thanks again for all your work, have a nice day
« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 06:07:47 PM by Darkhell »

Aminifu

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2024, 11:20:02 PM »
Sorry Darkhell, I'm not able to replicate your Bento skin switching issue. I can confirm that clicking the "Set skins directory..." button does nothing.

I can also confirm that the initial issue reported by wbpayne and MarkRH (which was also happening for me in the previous beta builds when switching to the base skin) is fixed in beta build #18980.

« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 11:28:31 PM by Aminifu »
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v23H2
Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2024, 01:26:07 PM »
I can confirm that clicking the "Set skins directory..." button does nothing.
Have added it to the todo list though I've not checked why it's not reacting like it should.

As for darkhell's reply, I'd need confirmation whether it's happening with 18980 or not as I can't get that failure to occur & only can with the older 18916 build which was the one out when this thread was started.

-dro

Aminifu

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2024, 06:31:26 PM »
Have added it to the todo list though I've not checked why it's not reacting like it should.
...

-dro

As far as I'm concerned, take your time. I have no need or desire to change the default skins folder.

I also should stop posting in preview build threads, since I don't use it. It's just that I look at all posts and sometimes what is reported for a preview also happens with a beta.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2024, 06:42:17 PM by Aminifu »
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v23H2
Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2024, 10:22:35 AM »
When the beta & the preview are the same build then it's fine.

As for the prefs issue, I had a todo note in the code since it wasn't something I'd yet implemented when dropping legacy mode & should've had the button be disabled. As that prefs page used to heavily manipulate what the winamp core was providing & when all of that got dropped I'd just not gotten around to implementing it since I'd not had to when the winamp core was able to handle the action for me. Is now sorted for the next build.

-dro

Aminifu

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2024, 07:20:44 PM »

... when all of that got dropped I'd just not gotten around to implementing it since I'd not had to when the winamp core was able to handle the action for me. Is now sorted for the next build.

-dro

With all you do by yourself, it is quite understandable when some things fall thru the cracks.  :)

I'm still wondering why anyone would want to change the default skins folder. Although, at some point, someone will try to use any option that looks like it may be used.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2024, 07:21:16 PM by Aminifu »
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v23H2
Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

Darkhell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2024, 08:51:18 PM »
I can confirm that clicking the "Set skins directory..." button does nothing.
Have added it to the todo list though I've not checked why it's not reacting like it should.

As for darkhell's reply, I'd need confirmation whether it's happening with 18980 or not as I can't get that failure to occur & only can with the older 18916 build which was the one out when this thread was started.

-dro

Hi, after a lot of trial and error  i've found how to trigger the problem respect to the skin that doesn't load , how it triggers is really weird tbh  :o, for some reason (idk how to describe exactly), if there is a folder or a file in the root of the skin folder with names that start with "a" or "b", depending on the following 2 or 3 letters that accompany them, it affects the load of Bento and/or Big Bento, iv'e recorded a little example, in the video u can see how it changes the .ini file too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWssrfy0T28

Respect to the ability to change the skin folder, well, is useful if u have a skin collection and don't want to move to the installation folder to be able to use them
« Last Edit: May 04, 2024, 08:58:14 PM by Darkhell »

Aminifu

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2024, 11:15:40 PM »

... if there is a folder or a file in the root of the skin folder with names that start with "a" or "b", depending on the following 2 or 3 letters that accompany them, it affects the load of Bento and/or Big Bento, ...


I'm using the x86 beta build v1.99.12.18980.

I'm currently using 16 modern skins and 10 classic ones (excluding the default built in one). I have 5 folders and 1 file in my skins folder with names that start with "A" or "B". The folders contain the files for various modern skins (such as the Bento skins). The file is an archive file for a classic skin (Bento_Classified.wsz). What are the following 2 or 3 letters that trigger your issue? I would like to try to replicate this.

It is not clear to me which .ini file is changed and what the changes are. The winamp.ini is updated with the name of the skin being used when a session is shutdown, so that the next session is started with the same skin. The studio.xnf file is similarly updated if the skin is a modern one.

I have no problems switching among all the skins I'm using, using any and all of the methods currently provided.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2024, 11:50:13 PM by Aminifu »
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v23H2
Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Bug when switching skins in Preview v1.99.11.18916
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2024, 12:58:50 AM »
It's likely how I'm mapping the skin file / folder to a menu item index & based on the video it seems to be counting the empty folder which depending on how the drive returns the order of files (normally alphabetically with ntfs) would then place an a / b named folder before the bento skin items which if it's what I'm thinking would cause it to act as is shown (i.e. it's selecting the 'hidden' empty skin & reverts to the default skin instead of skipping that folder & using what was set for the menu string).

-dro