Latest WACUP beta release is build #8282 (July 23rd 2021)

Latest WACUP public preview is build #7236 (March 11th 2021)

Author Topic: output plugin in use  (Read 720 times)

mts

  • Beta Tester
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
output plugin in use
« on: November 22, 2020, 11:22:42 PM »
Hi
It's difficult to know what output plugin is in use.
For me there is only one output plugin at the same time. It's not possible to use several output plugin at the same time.
A wish to have some to know which output plugin is in use now.
Perhaps a different font or color, grease on font ...


MTS

Dr.Flay

  • Evil Genius
  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 136
  • AMIGA Forever
    • View Profile
    • About Me
Re: output plugin in use
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2020, 12:29:31 AM »
You are correct, you cannot select more that 1 output plugin.
You currently have the old Directsound plugin selected.
It has a darker background.
My weekly radio show on Source FM ☛ 15% Extra

Aminifu

  • Beta Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: output plugin in use
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2020, 04:25:48 AM »
While only 1 output plug-in can be selected at a time, it is possible to use more than 1 output plug-in at the same time if the selected plug-in is able to direct it's output to another output plug-in. This allows 2 output plug-ins to be used at the same time. If the 2nd plug-in is also able to direct it's output to another, then 3 output plug-ins can be used at the same time, and so on.

For example, I used to use 3 output plug-ins at the same time. I now use 2. My selected 3rd party output plug-in lets me re-sample (if I want) and re-direct selectable portions of the channels from my stereo source files to 6 output channels (front left, rear left, front right, rear right, center, and sub-woofer) for my 5.1 speaker system. This plug-in lets me direct it's 6 output channels to another output plug-in. I'm currently using WACUP's Not-So-Direct output plug-in for my 2nd output plug-in.

Several years ago Winamp supported output plug-in stacker plug-ins. Their use was discouraged after users started using them for illegal purposes.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2020, 05:00:03 AM by Aminifu »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v21H1
Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: output plugin in use
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2020, 06:12:05 AM »
Attached is what will be present in the next beta/preview build (the changes were made a few weeks back as this issue has kept cropping up & more so over the past few months). The change now means the selection in the list no longer changes the output plug-in used & the 'active' plug-in is shown in the list along with what's shown in the dropdown about the plug-in list.

-dro