Queuing with JTFE from media library

  • 8 Replies
  • 361 Views
*

etsaman

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • 5
    • View Profile
Queuing with JTFE from media library
« on: January 20, 2020, 04:43:06 PM »
Hi DrO,

1st question : is there a way to "queue" to JTFE directly from the media library or via a command line?

What I'm trying to accomplish here is to "queue" a song that is contained within my file structure but not present in the current playlist.
Since I'm calling this from an external program (home automation - Homeseer), it has to be as simple as possible.

My current workaround, is to "add to playlist", monitor the number of entries in the playlist and once it detects a new entry, it emulates keystrokes ("End" then a bunch of "down") so the focus is on the last line of the playlist and press "Q"; not the most elegant way to do it, but it's the only way I found so far.

The current behavior in the media library:

"Enqueue"=add to playlist
"Send to" / "add to queue" = add to playlist

would essentially need something like "add to JTFE" instead; or a way to do it via a command line call.

2- Can you confirm where JTFE stores its queue list so we could potentially access it from Homeseer for external display purposes?
(found gen_jumpex.m3u8 in the C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Winamp folder but seems empty)

3- Are there WMcommands or other ways to interact with JTFE externally? (queue to JTFE, access the Queue, move entries up/down, etc)

Thanks for your help!

Yann

« Last Edit: January 20, 2020, 05:35:46 PM by etsaman »

*

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 2076
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2020, 03:30:10 PM »
1) Prefs -> Playlist -> Jump to File -> Media Library tab -> queue manager view needs to be enabled. That will allow add to queue & other related options on the send-to menu though it's not enabled by default & is something I want to change later on so the send-to feature isn't dependent upon the media library core plug-in (gen_ml.dll) being present.

2) When it's running there isn't a static copy to view & the file you've found is only used when closing & the option to remember the queue is enabled. However it's an implementation detail which I had been looking to change as part of other consolidation & general clean-up with the jtfe mode moving from being a specific plug-in to part of the wacup core.

3) Not that works at the moment as its dependent upon me finishing off the file association / shell integration support & not having Winamp's original code running so the hacks that I'd had to use up to 5.666 aren't needed (none of that code is enabled under WACUP).

-dro

*

etsaman

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • 5
    • View Profile
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2020, 04:19:34 PM »
1) both of these "queue" features add the file to the "playlist editor" you then have to manually go in the playlist editor and press Q....
What I'm looking for is to "JTFE queue" the file directly from the library (same as pressing "Q" in playlist editor), or even better, straight from windows explorer context menu or winamp's command line.

2) and 3) fingers crossed for progress on these two as I had to build complex macros to achieve very simple tasks....

Really love JTFE but really need a way to access it easily from my Android devices and/or automate it via simple commands. (Homeseer)

Thanks again for all your support,
Cheers!
« Last Edit: February 19, 2020, 04:23:22 PM by etsaman »

*

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 2076
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2020, 04:26:01 PM »
There was an explorer menu option with the older version of the plug-in under 5.666 but it also didn't work too reliably but is on the list of things for the native support for additional explorer menu actions. The majority of it comes down to needing a known api in place that can deal with things so plug-ins can react accordingly without basically the hackish way that I'd tried to get things like the external queuing to work.

Unless I'm mis-reading things, it seems you're saying that queuing up items from elsewhere in the JTFE queue isn't also adding them into the main playlist editor - is that so or am I just mis-reading things?

-dro

*

etsaman

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • 5
    • View Profile
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2020, 04:16:24 AM »
What I mean is that there is no way to add "new" (not already in the playlist) items directly to the JTFE queue from explorer, the command line, Ajaxamp or the MediaLibrary
You have to add/queue items to the playlist, go back to the playlist, find the item at the bottom of the list and press "Q"

The use case:

- a playlist is currently playing on random, let's say my "Rock songs" folder
- someone asks for two songs contained within my "Christmas songs" folder;
- I will add them via JTFE and once these two songs have played, the "Rock" playlist will simply resume.

Now, since winamp doesn't provide any direct remote interface, I had to figure out a simple way to interact with Android devices.
Most Winamp features are available via simple WMcommands, the Homeseer plug-in or Ampwifi (Android app) which are all great workaround I've been using successfully.
however, there doesn't seem to be a simple way to access JTFE features.
Therefore I had to build a complicated macro routine to automate the actions and keystrokes required to do it; and I still don't have a way to view or edit the actual JTFE queue....

So unless an Android remote interface is in the works (fingers crossed), I'm looking for a simple way to queue items in JTFE and access/manipulate the queue so that I can do this via any of the above mentioned mediums.

Thanks for your help!

*

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 2076
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2020, 01:12:39 PM »
Ok, was just a cross-wire on the terms being used & not what I thought was meant, just that I need to get flexible command-line support in place (which would then allow more actions to potentially be done based on what the plug-in(s) decide they want to implement).

-dro

*

etsaman

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • 5
    • View Profile
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2020, 09:44:03 PM »
Thanks Darren, that would be great;

I am in touch with the developer of Homeseer's Winamp plugin (JonO)
https://forums.homeseer.com/forum/3rd-party-developer-area/general-developer-discussion/jon00/94458-jon00-winamp-controller-for-homeseer-3-and-homeseer-4
He did a great job implementing the plugin but it still misses JTFE interaction;

Same goes for the Android app: Ampwifi (Michael Veroukis)
He is still active and looking for alternatives to Ajaxamp to better interact with Winamp
http://www.blitterhead.com/ampwifi-android-app

I will stay tuned so we can hopefully add JTFE support via new command-line support.

Keep us posted, cheers



*

mveroukis

  • Beta Tester
  • Newbie
  • *
  • 8
    • View Profile
    • blitterhead.com
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2020, 03:45:11 AM »
Interesting, never heard of Homeseer. Jon00 has a really weird website which seems to be running on his home pc? Anyway, it seems like his Winamp plugin has a good list of features. Has the author indicated that he's willing to open up the plugin in anyway or even expose a REST api?

Are there IPC messages to interact with the JTFE? I don't remember seeing any but I may have missed them.

*

dro

  • Admin / WACUP Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • 2076
    • View Profile
    • WACUP (Winamp Community Update Project)
Re: Queuing with JTFE from media library
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2020, 03:41:21 PM »
I'd assume most of the interaction is just via the command-line (good thing 5.66x had that fleshed out in a few areas to make doing some of the SendMessage equivalents easier).

JTFE sort of has a SendMessage api along with a Wasabi based api but it's not all that great & I was intending on dropping/replacing it as it (the sendmessage api) doesn't fit in well with how the plug-in needs to work going forward.

-dro